Who Am I?

26 Jul

MAT
16:13  When Jesus came I unto the coasts
of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I
the Son of man am?

In Matthew 16:13 Jesus asked His disciples, “Who do men say that I am”? If Jesus asked that question then there has to be some virtue in knowing what people are saying about you.

There were varying opinions as to who Jesus was. Many including those who were the closest to Him collimated
Him to their own personal views. According to the recorded scripture Jesus was given names and titles that did not accurately describe His position, person or status.

Jesus was concerned so we too should be concerned about who men say that we are. However, we can’t get caught up in what people are saying.

Jesus announced His identity. Lets reverse Mat 16:13,   “I am the Son of man, who do people say that I am?”. Regardless to what people say I know without a doubt that I am the Son of man. We as believers have to know without a doubt who we are.

Psalms
139:23 Search me, O God, and
know my heart: try me, and know
my thoughts

The psalmist cried out to God to search his ways.  

 

Titles may associate and promote us in the world but they can be deceptive because they don’t change our identity and we remain just as we are. If we humble ourselves before God and obey His word He will exalt us in due time.

PSA
119:9  How can a young man keep his way
pure? By living according to your word. 

By Dr. Olivia T. Hines 

Leave a question or comment below!

Leave a Reply

